Thursday, August 9, 2012

Capitals of the former Soviet Union

The former Soviet Union consisted of fifteen republics.  The largest in area and population is Russia.  Here is a list of the former Soviet republics and their capitals:

Armenia Yerevan
Azerbaijan Baku
Belarus Minsk
Estonia Tallinn
Georgia Tbilisi
Kazakhstan Astana
Kyrgyzstan Bishkek
Latvia Riga
Lithuania Vilnius
Moldova Chisinau
Russia Moscow
Tajikistan Dushanbe
Turkmenistan Ashgabat
Ukraine Kiev
Uzbekistan Tashkent

After Moscow, the most famous capital is Kiev.  Another spelling of this city is Kyiv which is based on Ukrainian rather than Russian.  Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania are known as the Baltic republics.

No comments:

Featured Post

Finding the Proto-Form

Related languages have a number of words which are similar to one another. In the branch of linguistics known as historical linguistics, the...