Monday, January 18, 2010

New Countries

Many new counties have been created in the last twenty years. The number of new countries is over thirty. Many of these are from the former countries of the Soviet Union and Yugoslavia.

15 countries were created with the dissolution of the Soviet Union. They are Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Estonia, Georgia, Kazahkstan, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Lithuania, Moldova, Russia, Takikistan, Turkmenistan, Ukraine and Uzbekistan. Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania are known as the Baltic states. Russia, the largest country of the former Soviet Union, shares a border with seven former republics. They include Estonia, Latvia, Belarus, Ukraine, Georgia, Azerbaijan and Kazakhstan.

With the end of the former Yugoslavia, seven countries came into existence. These are Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Kosovo, Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Slovenia.

The former nation of Czechoslovakia is now two nations. They are the Czech Republic and Slovakia. The former nations of West Germany and East Germany are one- Germany. Eritrea is a nation which used to be part of Ethiopia and East Timor used to be part of Indonesia. East Timor is the only Asian country whose official language is Portuguese.

A number of countries have been created in the last twenty years. Many of them are from the former nations of the Soviet Union and Yugoslavia. Most are relatively small countries but Russia is a notable exception.

No comments:

Featured Post

Finding the Proto-Form

Related languages have a number of words which are similar to one another. In the branch of linguistics known as historical linguistics, the...